top of page

Critical Reflection

Beginning this critical thinking course, my objectives were to sharpen my communication abilities, enhance my report writing skills, and find a harmonious blend of clarity and sensitivity in diverse interactions. Reflecting on my journey, I'm confident in the progress I've made toward these goals. The task of connecting with classmates, many of whom I was meeting for the first time in a trimester, was daunting. My prior experience in the Navy, where I had served in leadership roles for three years, had conditioned me to a direct and professional mode of communication. However, I quickly realized that this style might not suit my new environment as a student. After receiving feedback that my presentation style was overly authoritative, likened to a "Commander's speech," I was motivated to adopt a more approachable tone. The opportunity to apply this softer approach came during a team proposal presentation, which affirmed that persuasive communication is still achievable without an overly firm tone.


Writing reports has historically been a challenge for me, with the requirements for word counts, citations, and effective communication seeming daunting. I actively sought out examples and guidance from my professor on improving these skills, applying the lessons learned not only in this module but across all my coursework.


My early morning discussions with Professor Blackstone became a highlight of my week, offering both enjoyment and valuable learning. Each conversation, ranging from my past experiences as a designer to discussing communication skills videos I found on TikTok, was an opportunity to practice balancing clarity with sensitivity. These interactions have been instrumental in refining my communication and critical thinking skills, underscoring the value of continuous improvement and adaptability.


Serving as the project team leader, my role extended beyond merely overseeing the project's progress to caring for my team's well-being and fostering a collaborative environment. Initially, I harbored a preference for working independently, adhering to the belief that "too many cooks spoil the broth." This mindset, born from a desire to streamline processes and avoid potential conflicts, proved to be mentally taxing. It prompted a crucial self-realization about the value of trust and delegation within a team.


This experience challenged my preconceived notions about teamwork and leadership. The project taught me the importance of recognizing and utilizing the unique strengths and expertise of team members. For instance, Chai, with his proficiency in visual design, dramatically illustrated this point by preparing our final presentation slides under a tight deadline. This not only alleviated the pressure on the team but also underscored the importance of each member's contribution. Similarly, Brenda's organizational skills were invaluable. Her ability to manage deadlines and keep meticulous records became a cornerstone of our project's success, allowing me to rely on her for crucial information amidst a flurry of submissions.


Reflecting on this project has fundamentally altered my perspective on learning and teamwork. I've learned that leadership is not just about guiding or directing but also about trusting your team and leveraging individual strengths for collective success. This understanding will influence my approach to future projects and collaborative efforts, emphasizing the significance of trust, delegation, and appreciation for diverse skills within a team.

29 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE RESEARCH PROJECT

In this group project, I serve as the team lead. My responsibilities include monitoring the team's progress, ensuring the project advances at an appropriate pace, and confirming tasks are evenly alloc

bottom of page